The Audi Sport W-Racing Team has taken double race honours and overall championship victory at the final event of the 2019 Gulf Sportscar Championship held at Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi.

Driving the #21 Audi R8 LMS, lead driver Charles Weerts took the wheel solo for the weekend, claiming pole for race one and clinched victory in both 50-minute races ahead of the team’s nearest rivals, the Dubai-based Dragon Racing team of Leon Price and Rob Barff in the #88 Ferrari 488 GT3.

Claiming the first rounds in November with co-driver Mike den Tandt, and the most recent two just a few weeks ago, the Belgium racer had only made his Sportscar debut this season. But with having gained extensive track experience since then, the 17-year-old says the Championship has been the perfect preparation for his move into full-time GT racing next month.

“This is a great result for the team and for Audi, and so to win the championship when our motivation in the beginning was really just to increase my mileage in the car, it’s great to get the victory,” said Weerts.

“The car was really good, we had good pace but competing against the Ferrari 488 GT3 was difficult on the straights – the car was like a rocket! But it was a good battle against Rob and Leon, I’ve learned a lot from my time in this championship and to get the title for WRT and myself is fantastic. It’s my second championship victory here in the UAE after F4UAE last year, and hopefully I will keep getting more good results like this back in Europe.”

After a six-round season, outright championship points sees W-Racing Team take the title in the premier GT3 category ahead of the #88 Dragon Racing Ferrari 488 GT3, and GPX Racing’s Jordan Groger and Fred Fatien (Ferrari 458 Italia/ Renalt RS1).

In additional classes, Dragon Racing’s Mercedes AMG GT4 took the GT Cup 2 class honours thanks to Ali Kamyab and Gomez Goncarlo, plus the team’s Ferrari 458 Challenge entry dominated in GT Cup with Leon Price and son Josh Price. In the Prototype class, the #4 Ligier JS P4 partnership of Gilles Petit and Christopher Zochling won the class.